Ferdinand (2017)

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars

Ferdinand is an upcoming American 3D computer animated film produced by Blue Sky Studios and 20th Century Fox Animation. It is based on the novel The Story of Ferdinand and directed by Carlos Saldanha, and stars the voices of John Cena, David Tennant, Anthony Anderson, Gabriel Iglesias, Kate McKinnon, Boris Kodjoe, Miguel Ángel Silvestre, Raúl Esparza, Jerrod Carmichael, Gina Rodriguez, Daveed Diggs, Bobby Cannavale, Sally Phillips, Flula Borg, and Karla Martínez. It is scheduled to be released on December 15, 2017 in 3D and 2D.
Ferdinand (John Cena), is a Spanish Fighting Bull who prefers to smell the flowers and be none-hostile rather than chasing red cloths held by matadors in arenas. But when disaster comes to him, he is taken to a fighting stadium like every bull in Spain, and Ferdinand needs to decide if he is a fighting bull or a flower smelling, generous, bull in order to earn his freedom.

John Cena as Ferdinand the Bull[4]
David Tennant as Angus, a bull[4]
Anthony Anderson as Bones, a bull[4]
Gabriel Iglesias as Cuatro, a hedgehog[5][4]
Kate McKinnon as Lupe, an old goat[4]
Boris Kodjoe as Klaus, a horse[4]
Miguel Ángel Silvestre as El Primero, a matador[4]
Raúl Esparza as Moreno[4]
Jerrod Carmichael as Paco, a dog[4]
Gina Rodriguez as Una, a hedgehog[4]
Daveed Diggs as Dos, a rat[4]
Bobby Cannavale as Valiente, a bull[4]
Sally Phillips as Greta, a horse[4]
Flula Borg as Hans, a horse[4]
Karla Martínez as Isabella[4]
In 2011, it was reported that 20th Century Fox Animation had acquired the rights to the children’s book The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf to adapt it into a computer-animated feature film with Carlos Saldanha attached to direct it.[6] In May 2013, Fox titled the film simply Ferdinand, which would be produced by Blue Sky Studios.[7] John Powell, a frequent collaborator with Saldanha, would be composing the film’s score.[8] In November 2016, it was reported that Gabriel Iglesias would voice a character named Cuatro, a hedgehog.[5]

In May 2013, Fox scheduled the film for April 7, 2017 release.[7] In February 2016, the release date had been pushed back from April 7, 2017 to July 21, 2017.[9] In August 2016, the release date had been pushed back again from July 21, 2017 to December 22, 2017, taking over the release date of DreamWorks Animation’s The Croods 2,[10] before that movie was cancelled.[11] In February 2017, the film was moved up by one week early from December 22, 2017 to December 15, 2017, opening against Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi.[2] The first trailer premiered on March 28, 2017.